Non-EEA family members of UK nationals living in Ireland

Withdrawal Agreement between the United Kingdom (UK) and the European Union (EU) entered into force on 1 February 2020. The Agreement has the force of law in Ireland. Although no longer a member of the EU the Withdrawal Agreement provides for a transition period. Brexit will come fully into effect on 31 December 2020, when the United Kingdom (UK) leaves the European Union (EU) after the end of the transition period.

The Irish Government is putting arrangements in place for those people who come from a country outside the EU (non-EEA), and are a family member or dependent of an UK national, who, as of 31 December 2020, hold a valid Irish Resident Permit (IRP) Card. 

As a non-EEA family member or dependent of a UK national, from 31 December 2020, you will hold the same residence rights to live, work or study in Ireland, if you reside here at the end of the transition period and continue to do so. 

You will simply be required to exchange your current valid IRP Card for a new one stating that you benefit from the Withdrawal Agreement.

This card replacement programme will apply from 1 January 2021 and be administered by the Immigration Service of the Department of Justice for all applicants nationwide through an on-line renewal system available at This system has been especially adapted to accept Withdrawal Agreement IRP Card replacement applications from all counties not just Dublin.

When making your online application:

  • You will be asked to confirm that you have been exercising EU Treaty Rights to reside in the State on or before 31 December 2020 and continue to do so.
  • You will be asked to upload proof of identity and proof of current residence.
  • With Brexit coming into effect, the IRP expiry date of all existing non-EEA family member or dependent of a UK national reverts to 31/12/2020 (instead of the expiry date on the current IRP card) and this is the date to be included at Section 1.2 of the Online Application Form.
  • You will have until 31 December 2021 to apply.

Your entitlements to move freely and reside in other Member States of the European Union will cease to apply from 31 December 2020. From 1 January 2021, your IRP card (or if you have not yet obtained your new IRP card, your Stamp 4 EU Fam Residence card) does not have visa exemption effect, except for Ireland. If you intend travelling to another EU Member State after that date, you will need to check the visa requirements for that Member State before you travel.

A new scheme will be introduced for UK nationals who come to Ireland after 11.01pm on 31 December 2020 and wish to bring their non-EEA family members.

Details of the scheme can be found here.

See the latest information in the Frequently Asked Questions document.



If you have questions, contact us.

Published: 05 January 2021