UK Nationals Living in Ireland

Withdrawal Agreement between the United Kingdom (UK) and the European Union (EU) entered into force on 1 February 2020. The Agreement has the force of law in Ireland. Although no longer a member of the EU the Withdrawal Agreement provides for a transition period.  Brexit will come fully into effect on 31 December 2020, when the United Kingdom (UK) leaves the European Union (EU) after the end of the transition period.

If you are a UK national living in Ireland nothing will change. The protections provided by the Common Travel Area (CTA) mean that UK nationals living here (and likewise Irish citizens living in the UK), will continue to travel freely, live, work and access education, healthcare and social services in each other’s country, after the UK leaves the EU.

The Common Travel Area pre-dates Irish and UK membership of the EU and is not dependent on it. The Government of Ireland and the UK Government have signed a Memorandum of Understanding, reaffirming their commitment to maintaining the CTA in all circumstances. On the date of the signing, both Governments also issued a Joint Statement.

UK nationals do not require any documentation to continue their lives in Ireland after 31 December 2020, although they may request it under the Withdrawal Agreement if they wish.

There will also be no change for UK nationals who wish to live in Ireland after 31 December 2020.

See the latest information in the Frequently Asked Questions document.



If you have questions, contact us.

Published: 23 December 2020