Mental Health (Criminal Law) Review Board

The Mental Health (Criminal Law) Review Board is an independent, statutory body. It was established by the Minister for Justice and Equality with effect from 27 September, 2006, pursuant to Section 11 of the Criminal Law (Insanity) Act 2006.



The main function of the board is the regular review of patients detained in a designated centre pursuant to the Criminal Law (Insanity) Act 2006. This includes persons found not guilty by reason of insanity or unfit to be tried. The Central Mental Hospital is currently the only designated centre under the Act.

The review board is also responsible for reviewing the detention in the Central Mental Hospital of prisoners, including military prisoners, suffering from mental disorders that have been transferred from prison and military personnel referred from the relevant Defence Acts.


Board Members

The current members of the Review Board are:

  • the Honourable Mr. Justice Iarfhlaith O'Neill (Chairperson)
  • Dr. Michael Mulcahy, Consultant Psychiatrist
  • Ms. Nora McGarry, Counsellor Psychotherapist
  • Dr. Elizabeth Walsh, Consultant Psychiatrist

    Usually three members review any particular case.


Contact Details

The review board can be contacted by post, telephone, fax or e-mail:

Address:  Mental Health (Criminal Law) Review Board
51 St. Stephen's Green
Dublin 2 
Phone:  + 353 1 602-8221
Fax:  + 353 1 602-8216