The Minister for Justice, Equality and Law Reform, Mr Michael McDowell, T.D., today announced the membership of the Property Registration Authority which is being established under the Registration of Deeds and Title Act 2006.

The main functions of the new Authority will be to manage and control the Registry of Deeds and the Land Registry and to promote and extend the registration of ownership of land. 

The Minister said, "The new Authority will build on the modernisation programme that is already under way within the Registries.  It will also play a dynamic and forceful role in promoting registration of ownership of land with a view to facilitating the introduction of electronic conveyancing."

The establishment of the Authority will have a number of positive benefits.  In particular, the new body will:


The members of the Property Registration Authority are:



Mr. Gerry McCaughey, Chief Executive, Kingspan Century;



Ms. Una Woods, BCL, LLM, Law Faculty, College of Humanities, University of Limerick;

Mr. John Shaw, Practising solicitor nominated by the Law Society;

Ms. Emer Daly, former Director of Strategic Planning and Risk Management, AXA Ireland;

Ms. Maura Whelan, S.C., Practising barrister nominated by the Bar Council;

Mr. Sean McClafferty;

Mr. Seamus Carroll, Principal Officer, Department of Justice, Equality and Law Reform;

Ms. Brid Carter, Director, Local Government Computer Services Board;

Mr. Michael Kelly, Securities Policy and Training Manager, Allied Irish Bank;

Mr. Michael Cahill;

The staff representative will be elected by the staff of the Authority in due course.

It is intended that the Authority will have its first meeting in early September and will be formally established by way of an Establishment Order later this year.

22 August 2006